First checkpoint of the summer!

It’s mid-June and as we sit through another temperamental British Summer of transfer news and rumours it’s good to get to a checkpoint. The first one of these comes in the form of the League Cup First Round draw which takes place tomorrow morning. The Cobblers, along with all teams from Leagues 1 and 2 and most of the Championship line-up for next season, will go into the hat and this season we find ourselves in the Southern Section part of the draw. The seeding system is back for the First Round so there’s a chance that we will pull out the likes of local rivals Peterborough United, MK Dons, Coventry or Leicester as well as potentially mixing it up with Birmingham, Cardiff or Wolves.

With nineteen possible opponents, it should be an interesting draw again given our record in the past two seasons. Below is the list of both North and South sand non seedings to give you an idea of who we could face!

North – Seeded

1. Barnsley
2. Blackpool
3. Burnley
4. Carlisle United
5. Derby County
6. Doncaster Rovers
7. Hartlepool United
8. Huddersfield Town
9. Hull City
10 .Leeds United
11. Middlesbrough
12. Nottingham Forest
13. Notts County
14. Sheffield United
15. Sheffield Wednesday
16. Tranmere Rovers

North – Unseeded

1. Accrington Stanley
2. Bradford City
3. Burton Albion
4. Bury
5. Chesterfield
6. Crewe Alexandra
7. Fleetwood Town
8. Morecambe
9. Oldham Athletic
10 .Port Vale
11. Preston North End
12. Rochdale
13. Rotherham United
14. Scunthorpe United
15. Shrewsbury Town
16. York City

South – Seeded

1. AFC Bournemouth
2. Birmingham City
3. Brentford
4. Brighton & Hove Albion
5. Bristol City
6. Cardiff City
7. Charlton Athletic
8. Colchester United
9. Coventry City
10 .Crystal Palace
11. Ipswich Town
12. Leicester City
13. Millwall
14. Milton Keynes Dons
15. Peterborough United
16. Portsmouth
17. Stevenage
18. Watford
19. Wolverhampton Wanderers

South – Unseeded

1. AFC Wimbledon
2. Aldershot Town
3. Barnet
4. Bristol Rovers
5. Cheltenham Town
6. Crawley Town
7. Dagenham & Redbridge
8. Exeter City
9. Gillingham
10 .Leyton Orient
11. Northampton Town
12. Oxford United
13. Plymouth Argyle
14. Southend United
15. Swindon Town
16. Torquay United
17. Walsall
18. Wycombe Wanderers
19. Yeovil Town

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s